Mirror Mirror on the wall whose the thinnest one of all….


This title certainly grabbed my attention on a fellow bloggers page (keepupwithdee).

She talked about the medias involvement, attitude and blatant encouragement to pick yourself and (in particular) other women apart.

To generally not feel that great about yourself if you’re not the ‘right shape’ or the ‘right size’.

What is the right ‘shape and size’ any way – according to the media that changes depending on what mood they are in!

Curvy frames and slim frames seem to go in and out of ‘fashion’.

Here are some examples of celebrated curvy women:

chunround.jpg

Here are some examples of ‘celebrated’ slim/ petite women:

skinnyminni.jpg

Have you heard about the ‘thigh gap’??

Well let me enlighten you, it’s a craze/ trend to have a gap between your thighs when you stand with your feet together.

thigh gap

Some women naturally have it some work hard to try to get one, some don’t care.

I fall into the last category! lol

Who comes up with this stuff?

Who decided that it’s ‘cool’ and that’s what we should all aspire to look like?

If that same person convinced every one tomorrow we should all have elbows that face inward I wonder how long it would take people to book in for surgery?

The media encourages women to compare themselves, to their friends, family, celebrity’s on Tv, in magazines, people we see in our every day lives and criticise ourselves and others if they don’t fit  into the category of size and shape that is currently in ‘fashion’!

I feel like it would be wrong to say I wouldn’t have fears and worries about the people I love, if they were at polar ends of the spectrum eg. obese or very under weight.

For me my concerns would come from a place of love.

I am motivated from a positive place of HEALTH and there is nothing shallow about wanting and supporting the people you love to be healthy.

In some ways I think it’s human nature to want what we don’t have (like Kim Kardashians bum)! But to become obsessed by it, to the point that we no longer enjoy the pleasures this life has to offer would be such a great shame.

It’s not realistic….It’s not right for every one and it’s not the truth!

Reading lots of Bikini models Blogs I have been reassured they don’t look chiseled, buff without an ‘inch to pinch’ all year-long. Most of them only look like that when they know they have a competition or photo shoot coming up and they have to do a lot of preparation to get ready.

Photo shop, if you haven’t already learned photo shopping a picture can dramatically change some ones appearance and it’s used in most pictures in magazines most of the time. It can change colours, whiten and straighten teeth, get rid of blemishes, spots, wrinkles and is used a lot to change the shape and appearance of some ones body! When women look at magazines and aspire to be like those models or celebrities they are aspiring to something that’s not real!

Click the link to a YouTube video for just one example!

My hopes for the future:

skinny new healthy

That women stop comparing themselves to other women in such a negative way.

the only person that you

I hope that what ever end of the spectrum some ones at, if they decide they want to live a healthy life that they get tons of support!!!! 🙂

every new day

fly

Never wish to be some one else.

stubborn

That women become more stubborn and concentrate on having a healthy life, healthy attitude, healthy mind, healthy body and Ignore the media. 🙂

That women dress to flatter their figure and embrace their different body shapes.

figure

There is nothing wrong with admiring someones style but my hope for the future is that young girls ‘role models’ are not based solely on looks, but on their character, strength, determination, beliefs and out look.

Here are some of my role models:

aspiree.jpg

  1. Anita Roddick, a British -born international businesswoman, human rights activist and environmental campaigner, best known as the founder of The Body Shop
  2. Katie Piper, was attacked with Acid (set up by her ex boyfriend). She used her experience to help other burns victims and featured in two documentaries. The first focusing on how much her life had changed since the attack and her treatment for the burns, the second focusing on inner beauty and people’s judgments towards burn victims. She’s still very much interested in fashion and always looks immaculate, she’s a model, Tv presenter and book writer and has set up a foundation charity to support other burn victims.
  3. PINK (Alecia Beth Moore Hart), first and fore most a fierce and intelligent music artist, amazing live performer with a bit of a punk rock image and most successful artist of her generation, having sold over 45 million albums. She is also a prominent campaigner for PETA and regularly talks about her love of animals and veg gardening in interviews! 

I’d love to hear who some of your female role models/ ladies you look up to are and why.

x

8 thoughts on “Mirror Mirror on the wall whose the thinnest one of all….

  1. Flippin well love this article, I agree with everything you say! I think all us women need to try to be positive role models for young girls and show what true beauty and happiness really is.

  2. I admit it. I soooo wanted the “thigh gap” when I was a teen (waaaaay back in the early 80s). But, alas, I had runners legs, which meant muscle…and no gap. Ack. It bugged the heck out of me. 🙂 Fast forward to now. Still no thigh gap. haha. But, approaching my 50th birthday much more focused on healthy eating and loving the body that I have.

    • Now see I’d love bigger legs (more muscle) so it prove my point that we always want what we don’t have 🙂 I’m just glad I’ve got a fairly well functioning body! (Counting my blessings) 🙂

  3. Love this blog article. It’s a amazing what fashion has come to over the years. I personally wanted to be thin in my teens and had the genes back then! But, motherhood has a way of showing what this body is designed to do. Be curves and destine to be healthy. A role model to your child. I personal love Audrey Hepburn from beauty, makeup style, fashion and her personal life. Amazing woman and mother. Jane Goodall for her passion to taking care of and understanding animals in their natural home. Heidi Klum and Christie Brinkley both for natural beauty, fashion tastes, being themselves, down to earth, charity and taking care of what is important= family. My choices maybe older but I really don’t see any new and upcoming people in this day and age. I like classics. I really don’t waste my time in the pass several years watch Celebrity news.

Please leave me a comment xx

