Health Food Shop Haul ‘Reviews’


1970531_10153888834195697_979286043_n[1]  First up is Agave nectar a healthy alternative to sugar.

Made from a plant named Agave, it is a low GI sweetener so perfect for avoiding sugar highs and then a crash. I would liken the taste to caramel and I had it on ‘American pancakes’ (Recipe on my Blog) with pear, Greek yogurt and Nuts.

pancakes

Kallo Belgian dark chocolate organic rice thins   1782070_10153888835450697_1574645164_n[1]

This snack list of ingredients although are not considered health foods are all ingredients I recognize which is a good thing! Low in calories, slow energy releasing (the cracker is made with brown rice). These crackers were moreish, sweeter than I imagined, how ever not very filling and I had to eat them very slowly to avoid eating the whole pack in one go! I think you get about 6 in a pack this size. You MUST keep them in an air tight box or they will loose their ‘crunch’.

1798021_10153888838815697_984505098_n[1]  Dark Chocolate ‘go Do’ and Beyond Dark chocolate drops.

Both of these are very small.

The 60% Sicilian dark chocolate bar with almonds was a ‘mini’ handbag sized chocolate bar. It was a nice chunky chocolate bar and satisfying to bite, although I didn’t find the flavor to be very strong and found it a bit ‘cocoa powdery’.

Beyond Dark chocolate drops – mini bag, these are SO flavorful 70% dark chocolate drops, they are almost fruity.  They are high in Anti oxidants, they have produced other flavors but the anti oxidants are highest in the dark chocolate drops. The process the company use result in a very smooth dark chocolate.

Chia seeds a fairly new ‘super food’  1896815_10153888841125697_2006182477_n[1]

These little ‘wonder seeds’ are high in omega 3 fatty acids, high in fiber, they are very similar to flax and sesame seeds. When mixed with liquid they produce a gelatin substance, lots of people add them to smoothies, cereal mix, granola bars, and yogurt. I make my own bread so it seemed natural for me to add it in with my other mixed seeds, as I didn’t fancy the gelatin substance it produces in wet dishes much. It gave a nice nutty flavor to the bread.

1000633_10153888837545697_1539489605_n[1]   Dry Roasted and flavored chick peas.

Although I found these moreish and liked the tomato and Garlic & herb flavor, I didn’t like the consistency that dry chick peas made in my mouth when chewing them (similar to eating chick pea flour) – you definitely need to have a drink to hand. But it was a good alternative to a high fat- high processed snack and would be good to put out with nuts etc in small bowls if you had guests visiting.

Manuka Honey nuggets with lemon   1781984_10153888839775697_670296939_n[1]

As chance would have it soon after purchasing these every one happened to have sore throats and these were a very pleasant alternative to lozenges. Although sweets are not considered a ‘health food’ Manuka honey is well known for it’s many beneficial properties such as it’s healing and antibacterial properties. These were a nice subtle flavour and very authentic tasting.

65444_10153888841875697_754496208_n[1]   ‘Yo Yo’ sweets.

Pure fruit no added nasties! These are a brilliant alternative to high sugar – high processed sweets! They come in small rolls (similar looking to a liquorish roll) and with the brightly coloured packaging are aimed at children (and health conscious parents). The actual sweets are quite dull in colour green/brown but the taste is intense fruity and naturally sweet. We think the Pineapple flavour is the best one!

Smooth Cashew butter  1186817_10153888833565697_1131764297_n[1]

Why do nuts taste so much better when they are roasted? OMG this is sooo good! 100% roasted and blitzed Cashew nuts. It’s really tasty, I had it on toast! I usually make my own nut butters but I didn’t have any Cashew nuts. Cashews, as with other tree nuts, are a good source of antioxidants. Alkyl phenols, in particular, are abundant in cashews.[14][15] Cashews are also a source of dietary trace minerals copper, manganese, magnesium and phosphorus.[16]

acai berry    Acai Berry juice drink.

The Acai Berry comes from a type of Palm tree, also classed as a ‘super food’ this fruit is high in vitamins and naturally in it’s pulp form is not sweet. I poured myself a glass of the juice and decided pretty much after the first sip that it was too ‘sickly’ sweet to enjoy as a glass of juice and from then on added it to smoothies.

It was much more palatable this way.   acia smoothie

good hemp Good Hemp ‘milk’.

Hemp milk or hemp seed milk, is a drink made from hemp seeds that are soaked and ground into water, yielding a creamy nutty beverage. It is marketed in health and fitness publications as a “new health food hero’.

 To consider this milk is where I went wrong it’s got a savoury grassy/green flavour, and while it’s a nice refreshing savoury flavour (it also has a hint of sea salt) , I wouldn’t have it on cereal or in my tea! I added it to my smoothies for the health benefits. Hemp seeds contain a three-to-one ratio of omega-6 and omega-3 essential fatty acids and other nutrients include magnesium,phytosterolsascorbic acidbeta-carotenecalciumfiberironpotassiumphosphorusriboflavinniacin and thiamin.

I’ve still got a few bits from this haul to Review that I will probably use in Recipes,

Hope this gives you food for thought!

x

Please leave me a comment xx

