Scarecrow Competition!


This year in my Mums local village she is entering the scarecrow competition, with the theme that must include the Queen and the jubilee!

Now don’t ask me how this happened but some how I am now involved and she’s got me painting Jam tarts!! šŸ˜€

Any way she wanted her theme to be a bit inventive and notĀ so obviousĀ and has chosen the The ‘Queen of HeartsĀ and her Royal Jubilee Tarts’ based on an old English rhyme as follows:

The Queen of Hearts She made some tarts,

All on a summer’s day;

The Knave of Hearts He stole those tarts,

And took them clean away.

The King of Hearts called for the tarts,

And beat the knave full sore;

The Knave of Hearts brought back the tarts,

And vowed he’d steal no more.

It’s a work in progress that started with paper mache balloons to be the heads,

and making jam tarts from salt dough (prob my most favourite thing to make pretend food out of for children to play with),

and a woodenĀ skeletalĀ like structure a bit like a cross with arms that my Dad helped make for the bodies, I will keep uploading the pics as the Scarecrows take shape šŸ™‚

To add texture to the Queen of hearts hair we used strips of news paper/paper mache and twisted them before sticking them to the Queens head.

You have to make sure the Paper mache is completely dry before you start painting (conservatories are so useful for this).

Once painted the faces were drawn with permanent marker and varnished, but because our paints are water based they ran when we varnished so we used separate clean brushes for each part of the face.

It’s quite fun seeing it take shape, but not so fun when my Mum walked past the kitchen Window with the Queens head and banged on the window I think I actually jumped in the air! šŸ˜€ Ours looked great (not biased at all) šŸ˜€ alot of work went into it I even got the neighbour to help me put it up (Thank you Terry), The Queen looked very regal in her velvet red dress, apron and had a rollingĀ pin attachedĀ and the cheeky knave, looked down at her from the wall, covered in jam, with the Jam tarts in hand, I’m not just saying they were good, because the Judge thought this to and WE WON!!! FIRST PLACE šŸ™‚ We are really chuffed, it’s the first thing we’ve entered! The Judges comments were lovely!

Please leave me a comment xx

